C.F. Stradford Award

Each year, State’s Attorney Foxx presents the C.F. Stradford Awards in recognition of Black History Month. This award honors judges, lawyers, and community leaders who best represent the values exemplified through the work of attorney Cornelius Francis Stradford. Throughout his career, Mr. Stradford demonstrated an unrelenting commitment to social justice and a dedication to opening doors and removing barriers for future African-American lawyers. Among his many achievements, Mr. Stradford was a trailblazing civil rights attorney and argued the landmark case of Hansberry et al. v. Lee before the United States Supreme Court. He also co-founded both the Cook County Bar Association and the National Bar Association, leading to more diversity and inclusion in the legal field.

If you would like to nominate someone for the 2021 C.F. Stradford Awards, you can find the nominating form here.

Past Honorees

Year Honorees
2020 Honorable Marian E. Perkins
Honorable William Stewart Boyd 
Emmanuel Andre, Esq.
Minority Legal Educational Resources, Inc. (MLER)
2019 Honorable Cornelious Elwood Toole  (posthumously)
Honorable John Fitzgerald Lyke, Jr
Reverard Jesse L. Jackson, Sr.
Pastor Christopher T. Harris
2018 Tamar Manasseh
Honorable Freddrenna M. Lyle
2017 Honorable P. Scott Neville, Jr. 
Dr. Ozzie Smith III, D. D. S.
2016 Honorable Arthur F. Hill, Jr. 
Rev. Gloria Randolph 
2015 Honorable Marjorie C. Laws 
Rev. Dr. Marcenia Richards
2014 Stephen Mitchell 
Torrey L. Barrett 
2013 Honorable Lewis Michael Nixon 
Melody Spann-Cooper 
2012 Honorable Judge Michael Brown 
Reverend Willie T. Barrow 
2011 Honorable Judge Marcus R. Salone
Andrea L. Zopp
2010 Honorable Justice Bertina E. Lampkin
Honorable Sharon Johnson Coleman